Reason #24: We all need to know that someone is there looking out for us

Every week, TEEP Founding Director Paul Bowen emails  the high school students in the Leadership Development Program a reflection question.

This week, he asked what they were most proud of in themselves and what they needed from others. Here is what one of our ninth graders had to say:

“The thing I am most proud of this year is my perseverance.  Everything that happened this year personally, weren’t the easiest things to go through, and I think I did a good job of sticking it out. For example, I was recommended for honors history and I decided to take it. In the beginning of the year, I really regretted my decision, and even though I am still having a small struggle with it, I am actually very glad that I decided to keep going, and not drop out, because I know it’s going to help me with college, and it’s going to push me to my absolute limits, which I think can be good for me, because sometimes that’s what we need, a push.

I am also proud of the leader that I feel I have become. I have really taken control of my life and tried to do a lot more things to set a good example for people who are younger than me, especially my younger sisters and my niece. It’s also helped being in the LDP because it has given me a new perspective on the way someone should act, and try to make sure that everything they’re doing is appropriate, and something to be proud of.

In 2011, I think the only thing someone else can do for me, help me with, or give me, is support and to just let me know that someone is there looking out for me, and that they make sure that when I have the up and down moments, someone can help me get back up when I am down.

Thank you, have Happy Holidays, and a Happy New Year!!!”

Leave a Reply

