Reason #6: Because “If I can do it, you can do it too”

If I had to pick one event where I feel like I truly challenged myself, it would be the Rodman Ride for Kids. When Paul announced that this ride would be a fundraiser for TEEP, I jumped right in to do it because I love TEEP and want this program to keep going. My first year, I believe I was the only youth riding, and to top it all off, I didn’t even know how to ride a bike!  I had to teach myself how to ride a bike, thanks to the help of my parents, Paul, and Jess Leffler. That year I rode 25 miles, followed by two consecutive years of 50 mile Rodman Rides. I’m still nowhere near a perfect rider, not even a good one, as my main man Juan David would confirm, but I did it, I overcame my challenge.

My experience in the Rodman Ride is without a doubt the definition of “If I can do it, you can do it too”.  In the last two years, more and more of my co-workers got involved with The Rodman Ride. Maybe it was because of me, maybe it was the influence of the community – I can’t say for sure. All I did was challenge myself and hope to better myself so I can then try to give back to others.

-Standy (12th grade)

Make a gift!

Leave a Reply

