Reason #12: Learning to “look deeper”

As a ninth grader at TEEP the overall theme of the summer was to “look deeper”. It went from looking deeper into a simple picture we saw every day, to looking deeper into a problem, or into someone else. Looking deeper has helped me achieve my goal of excellence by opening my eyes, and making sure I wasn’t ignorant to the things around me. Looking deeper has gone from just seeing if there was a pregnant lady on the bus who needed a seat to being involved in issues in my community such as bullying and stereotypes. “Look deeper” to me means to find what’s hiding inside, what needs to be brought out. Looking deeper into things has helped me to not judge anything by the pure image, but to keep visualizing and to think about what is in front of me. It has taught me to not only find faults and problems but to learn how to find solutions. I look deeper into things whether it’s a bus ride or if it’s an issue in my community.

-Arlette, 12th grade

Make a gift!

Leave a Reply

