Reason # 23: To support the character development and academic success of Boston youth

 Responding to the needs of the teens and youth who live a couple of miles from my house is unavoidable.  I pass through neighborhoods every day and see the challenges that they are up against.  The work of the Trinity Boston Foundation is groundbreaking.  It works in the environments of the youth served; it works with their families and most importantly it helps the teens get on and stay on the path to a college degree.  As I think about my involvement with the Foundation, some things come to mind of which I am most proud:

  • I am most proud of the fact that students leave us with a set of core values that will give them the strength to navigate the inevitable rapids of their lives
  • I am most proud of the fact that almost all go to and stay in college
  • I am most proud of the fact that they leave us with a responsibility to care for their body, their mind and their spirit
  • … and I am most proud of the fact that they leave us with a desire to care for and help others.

The youth who are involved in Trinity Boston Foundation programs, such as TEEP, are a model of humanity at its best and I am so grateful to them for all they have taught me.  In our holiday season I am acutely aware that George and I have gotten way more than we have given.  They will be the leaders of tomorrow and we can all be proud.

Mimi Bennett, Board Chair, Trinity Boston Foundation

Leave a Reply

